Skip to content

Google Remembers the 79th Anniversary of the Drive-In, Not D-Day

June 6, 2012

Image

I visited Google this morning to check out what they came up with for the 68th Anniversary of D-Day. In 1944, some of history’s most iconic, selfless and courageous men stormed the beaches of Normandy, and I was interested to see Google’s tribute.

Shame on me. I forgot that today was the 79th anniversary of the drive-in movie theater.

To be clear, I love Google doodles. I don’t look to Google as an unofficial historian, and I understand they’d rather do funny, witty, happy or creative doodles. On the anniversary of the invasion of Normandy, I’d go without a doodle over showcasing another anniversary. No condemnation here, but I think they made a poor decision.

I hope there’s backlash. In current times, I won’t be surprised if this goes unnoticed, but I’ll be damned if I don’t share my thoughts. I just wanted to get this posted. I might expand later this evening. Until then, leave a comment and share this post. If this bothers you, don’t be silent.

xAmy

**UPDATE**
Wowza! This post gave me one of my busiest blog days since 2008. I’m glad I made it to my office computer as early as I did to see the June 6th Google doodle (drive-in movies, y’all!) I think I got a jump on most of the blogs that posted on the topic. Since the 2008 election, I’ve blogged off and on, and I’ve had several “I’m back!” posts. Life always seems to get out of control, and I start to ignore my political blog for other blogs I manage or other activities.

I’m sorry.

I’ll try to be a better political opinion blogger, and if anything motivated me, it was all of my awesome readers today! You guys rock!

xAmy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2012 10:10 am

    I too was diasappointed.

    The saddest part is that there probably isn’t going to be much (if any) backlash because it’s almost impossible to find anything about this controversy. My corworker told me that she heard it being discussed on the radio and when I tried to Google it to see what people were saying about the matter nothing even remotely related came up- just a bunch of Google plugs for archived Google doodles, information about the doodle project, etc. I tried several different search queries before I found anything and then all I could locate was a short forum post on Hannity’s site where someone said that they thought it was sad and a bunch of internet trolls attacked the poster calling him/her ridiculous.

    I then went to Bing, and they actually provided what I was looking for- links to interesting discussions on the matter representing multiple points of view, but I doubt most people are going to take the time to do all of this. Google has made sure that all opinions that contradict their own have been squeltched.

  2. have blue permalink
    June 6, 2012 11:12 am

    google did this on purpose. Some of there people have character flaws.

Leave a Reply

