Skip to content

Insulting, Godless Ads

November 12, 2008

Christmas is coming. Whether I think it’s too early for decorations or not, Wal-Mart and other retail stores are all looking a bit North Pole-y.

They’ve got “Jingle Bells”, “O Holy Night”, and “Grandma Got Ran Over by a Reindeer” on repeat, and the scented pinecones choke me up from their parking lots. As hard as I try, I can’t be mad. It’s a joyous season. My Savior’s birth is definitely something that makes me smile, even when I’m at the point of throwing icicles at folks.

NOTE: Though it might sound like it, I’m nothing like this guy on the left.

 I thought things were getting bad when advertisements began showcasing “Holiday Trees” and “Holiday Lights” because the word Christ in Christmas offended people. The most recent step taken by The American Humanist Association has really ticked me off. As a high school and then college student, I was told that we could no longer pray in class at the beginning of every day because it would offend people. Well, you know what? You people are really starting to offend me! HOW DARE anyone be able to take the Christ out of Christmas? The holiday is HOLY whether you want it to be or not. I am no right-wing religious nutcase, but if you want to celebrate Christmas…. Jesus Christ comes with it. Honestly, I think it’s selfish and hateful to take a holiday that is centered around Judeo-Christian beliefs and scratch the religion out of it.

 

 

This new ad campaign by The American Humanist Association asks “Why believe in a god?”  The reason for posting such outrageous ads is:

” there are an awful lot of agnostics, atheists and other types of non-theists who feel a little alone during the holidays because of its association with traditional religion.”

ARE YOU KIDDING ME?! I don’t feel left out during the month of Ramadan, because I know and understand that I am not Islamic. I’m not Jewish, so I don’t envy people who light Menorahs or celebrate Hanukkah. I don’t get offended when I hear Adam Sandler’s “Hanukkah Song” on the radio or Internet. So WHY are people feeling left out or offended during Christmas? I’m pretty stumped on this one.

 

 

The Association claims they don’t mean to question whether or not God exists. (Ummm… HELLO? The ad SAYS “Why believe in a god?” and your British counterparts posted a similar ad in London saying “There’s probably no God. Now stop worrying and enjoy life”. They say that though they are not trying to change minds about a deity, that:

we are trying to plant a seed of rational thought and critical thinking and questioning in people’s minds.”

Check out the new ads and read for yourself in this article, then post your thoughts below:

http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,450445,00.html

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2008 9:15 pm

    How is “be good for goodness’ sake” offensive? Or is it the question “why believe in a god” that you find offensive?

    Please explain.

    I can see how you would disagree with the ads, but I don’t see what’s insulting about them.

  2. liberalisntamy permalink*
    November 14, 2008 12:57 am

    Did you really even read the post? I never even once mentioned “be good for goodness’ sake”. I only quoted and commented on the “Why believe in a god?” portion of the ad.

    Obviously, this is the part I find offensive.

    Seeing as how the overall topic was about religion and how people want to take it out of everything, including religious holidays, I’m not sure how you might have fell off the boat along the way.

    Using public ads to question if God exists during the Christmas season is tacky. THE END.

  3. November 14, 2008 7:24 am

    Tacky doesn’t mean offensive.

    I find people who go too far when decorating their houses are tacky.

    But I’m not offended.

  4. liberalisntamy permalink*
    November 14, 2008 10:07 am

    Okay, I referred to it as tacky in one sentence of a comment reply. I’m pretty sure I called it a lot of other things in the rest of the post. This is not “Semantics of Amy’s Blog 101”. You should try somewhere else.

    The ad campaign is insulting, rude, offensive, tacky, and any other adjective I may be missing.

    Religion is being removed from many parts of the American way of life by the government and those who oppose “traditional ideas”. Now, this campaign is taking it another step by using quotes such as “There’s probably no God. Now stop worrying and enjoy life.” If I am not allowed to speak of my God or pray in public without someone being offended, these ads should not be allowed on display. If approx. 90% of Americans believe in God, why are we chosing to not only cater to the small percentage of atheists and agnostics, but to offend the majority of America?

  5. November 14, 2008 10:28 am

    “f I am not allowed to speak of my God or pray in public without someone being offended, these ads should not be allowed on display.”

    Who’s stopping you? And so what if people are offended? No one has the right not to be offended.

    Pray in public. As long as you’re not blocking traffic or trespassing somewhere, I’m behind you 100%.

    Don’t like the paid for ad on the side of the buses? Well, raise some money and put up your own ads that say whatever you like.

  6. November 14, 2008 12:12 pm

    The whole thing is just absolutely disgusting. I am outraged with the human race. The bullshit needs to stop.

  7. liberalisntamy permalink*
    November 14, 2008 2:07 pm

    @ morsec0de

    I never said anyone stopped me, or that I didn’t pray in public. Please refrain from commenting if you are not understanding the post. Sorry, but I am tired of responding to your comments with “that is not what I said” and “please read the post before commenting”. I can’t do that forever. Thanks for the blog attention, though. I appreciate it. =]

    @ Douglas

    Hello there, stranger!
    Thanks for the comment. I agree that it is disgusting, but I do not blame the human race. There are many people out there that are making it quite difficult for those of us who hold tight to “traditional values”. We will just have to stick together. Things are seemingly changing from “progressive” vs “traditional” to “evil/anti-religion” vs “good/religion”. In fact, lots of bloggers are taking that idea and running with it. It’s a little extreme for me to say that the left-wing is evil or anti-religious just yet, but I think the day is coming. Thanks again for all the support, Doug!

    -Amy

  8. Aaron Proctor permalink
    December 26, 2008 11:38 am

    This blog is great. Blog rolling you.

    – AP
    aaronproctor.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

